(Video): Kai Havertz Denied Second Goal For Close Handball Decision

FacebookTwitterWhatsAppEmailMore

Kai Havertz scored Chelsea’s first goal – but it won’t be given to him because it hit Ben Godfrey on the way in.

He then thought he’d scored our second, taking down a cute Callum Hudson-Odoi pass with his chest, turning and shooting into the corner.

But a VAR check has just ruled it a handball. It was probably the right call, but by a matter of inches. That so called “t shirt line” they’re using to call decide these things is so clearly flawed because it’s never going to be totally clear where the contact is on the body.

You can see the handball call in the picture embedded here and make your own mind up:

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here